To the fans, sponsors, and teams...THANK YOU...for an incredible season!
Dodge Lucas Oil CAT Nova Truck Centres Irving Blending & Packaging Cummins Ron Mac
Tim's Corner

Issue 73

Race Preview - Lockhart Truck Center 100

Who wants it more?!

I used that on one of the restarts last Saturday when Darren Mackinnon lined up next to Wayne Smith. Smith hadnít won since last season while Mackinnon hadnít won on the Tour until minutes later when he crossed the line first when the checkers flew. The scenario may very well play out again this weekend with drivers who are sporting long winless droughts, fresh faces looking to win their first race and others who are looking to move themselves up the point ladder.

Itís hard to pinpoint one driver who could win the Lockhart Truck Center 100 on Saturday. Honestly, there are over a dozen drivers who have a valid case as to why they could be a favorite this weekend. Letís start at the top with Mackinnon Ė heís holding the hot hand heading into the Speedworld. Donít forget the run he had here back in May where he ran second for a majority of the CARQUEST 100 to John Flemming. Flemming is looking to end a long winless streak this Saturday at his home track after dominating the season opener before Shawn Tucker got past his #97 car. Tucker looked strong Saturday night but ended up with a result not indicative of how he ran when he was swapping the lead with Kent Vincent. Vincent is one of those that has yet to win a race at the Speedworld under Pro Stock Tour sanction and will look to climb the podium one more spot from where he was at Oyster Bed Speedway.

There are victory lanes at certain race tracks that seem to elude some drivers. Like how that Oyster Bed Speedway victory has escaped the grasp of Craig Slaunwhite, the Speedworld has become that one track that Donald Chisholm wants to conquer more than any other. Chisholm has been strong at the Speedworld before but hasnít been able to ďclose the dealĒ at the Enfield speed plant. Jerome Kehoe came close here at the season finale in September, leading a majority of the first 100 laps of the 200-lap affair.

Former race winners at the Speedworld the likes of Greg Proude, Mike Stevens, Marty Prevost and Mike Mackenzie will look to turn their seasons around with a winning note on Saturday. Jonathan Hicken has been a threat in the seasonís first four events and will look to hold another Scotia Speedworld checkered flag this weekend. We canít forget Shawn Turple, who dominated this event last season by leading all 100-laps. Turple has been having a sub-par season, but for the hometown driver that could all be reversed with a victory in the race he won one year ago.

The drivers I mentioned above, along with about a dozen others will be at the track with the hopes of coming home with the checkered flag. This could very well be a big turning point in deciding who will have the drive to take away the $10,000 and the championship trophy for the Parts for Trucks Pro Stock Tour. Just one of the many reasons why you should spend Canada Day weekend with us at the Speedworld!


Last five winners: Shawn Tucker (May 23rd, 2011), Jonathan Hicken (September 12th, 2010*), Mike Stevens (August 21st, 2010), Cassius Clark (August 7th, 2010*), Shawn Turple (July 3rd, 2010)
*Denotes extra-distance race (Parts for Trucks 200/Atlantic CAT 250)

Two not for the road: In the last ten Parts for Trucks Pro Stock Tour races at the Speedworld, only two winners have hailed from Nova Scotia including Shawn Turple in this race last season and Wayne Smith in August 2009.

Hometown pride: Only one has a driver from out of province won the summer 100-lap event at Scotia Speedworld Ė Shawn Tucker in 2009.

Champions raising the trophy: Since 2006, only those drivers who have won Parts for Trucks Pro Stock Tour titles have won this event. Starting with Flemming in 2006, Wayne Smith (2007, 2008), Shawn Tucker (2009) and Shawn Turple (2010) have won this race.

First time winners: Gordie Ryan scored his first Parts for Trucks Pro Stock Tour victory in this race in 2001. Mike Mackenzie got his first win in the Pro Stock Tour era in 2004 while Marty Prevost scored his first and currently only Tour triumph at this race in 2003.

Race winners turned champions: Twice has the winner of this event gone on to win the overall championship; Wayne Smith (2008) and John Flemming (2006).

June/July Scotia Speedworld Winners:
2010: Shawn Turple
2009: Shawn Tucker
2008: Wayne Smith
2007: Wayne Smith
2006: John Flemming
2005: Gordie Ryan
2004: Mike MacKenzie
2003: Marty Prevost
2002: Gordie Ryan
2001: Gordie Ryan (Late July)*
2001: John Flemming (Late June)*

*2001 featured two 100-lap events during the summer months, only other year this happened was in 2009 when the Lucas Oil 100 was shifted to Scotia Speedworld.