To the fans, sponsors, and teams...THANK YOU...for an incredible season!
Dodge Lucas Oil CAT Nova Truck Centres Irving Blending & Packaging Cummins Ron Mac

Proude Victorious at Lucas Oil 100 CARQUEST Pro Stock Tour Season Opener


(Halifax, NS, May 23, 2009) Greg Proude of Springvale, Prince Edward Island won the CARQUEST Pro Stock Tour Season Opener the Lucas Oil 100 &mdahs; at Scotia Speedworld, located near Halifax, NS on Saturday evening. The race started out with two quick cautions in the first 4 laps but then ran smooth. Daryl Mahar of Hubley, NS finished second, ahead of John Flemming from Halifax. Wayne Smith, Timberlea, NS and Lonnie Sommerville of Quispamsis, NB rounded out the top five.

Proude won the Coast Tire Most Laps Led Award after leading the final 81 laps of the race. Over 4000 fans saw him take the lead from Craig Slaunwhite of Terence Bay, NS who led the first 19 laps. Five cautions slowed the race, which took just under an hour to complete.

Dave O'Blenis from Boundary Creek, NB, Robbie MacLean of Winsloe, PE and Kent Vincent from Crapaud, PE each won a LiteCo heat race, while Jonathan Hicken, Brudenell, PE, won the B Feature which was his last chance to qualify for the race. Thirty of the Maritime's top drivers attempted to qualify for the Main Feature.

Greg Proude won the Dartmouth Dodge Dash for Cash, featuring the top ten finishers in the Atlantic Tiltload Time Trials. He also had the fastest time on the 1/3 mile d-oval, with a time of 14.204 seconds (76.035 mph)

The fans were also treated to an exciting Maritime League of Legends Tour race. The 50 lap feature ended after only 49 laps when Jeff Atkinson, Port Latour, NS flipped on the front stretch after many cautions in the final 5 laps. Justin MacNeil, Sackville NS ended up taking the first checkered flag of their season.

The CARQUEST Pro Stock Tour returns to action in two weeks, when it makes its first stop at the high banks of Riverside International Speedway in Antigonish, Nova Scotia for the Ron MacGillivray Chevrolet 100 on June 6. Racing starts at 6pm.

1 29 Greg Proude Loyalist Marble & Tile Charlottetown, PEI 100
2 66 Daryl Mahar Inglis Jewelers, K Hubley Wood Five Island Lake, NS 100
3 97 John Flemming The Roofing Connection Halifax, NS 100
4 44 Wayne Smith Jetco Contracting Timberlea, NS 100
5 23 Lonnie Sommerville AE MacKay Builders Saint John, NB 100
6 0 Shawn Turple Dexter Construction Enfield, NS 100
7 01 Robbie MacLean Charlottetown Bottle & Metal Charlottetown, PEI 100
8 48 Dave O'Blenis Burger King, Peterbuilt, Tims Boundary Creek, NB 100
9 32 Chris Hughes CG Loaders & Boto Tires Brackley Beach, PEI 99
10 5 Jonathan Hicken Reynolds Well Drilling Brudenell, PEI 99
11 26 Mike Stevens Roadway Systems, TNT Insul Salisbury, NB 99
12 76 Roger Crane Montague Tire Montague, PEI 99
13 37 Kris Fournier Taylors Garage, Totally Tile Charlottetown, PEI 99
14 80 Roger Miller Harvey Racing Kennetcook, NS 99
15 8 Kent Vincent Vector Atlantic Crapaud, PEI 97
16 52 Shawn Tucker Rockico Truck & Trailer Fredericton, NB 96
17 18 Darren MacKinnon Shaws Towing Ltd. Winsloe, PEI 96
18 99 Craig Slaunwhite Halifax Glass & Mirror Terrence Bay, NS 95
19 21 Shawn Pierce Wayne Smith Automotive Bridgewater, NS 93
20 88 George Koszculics Nova Construction New Glasgow, NS 84
21 19v Darren Vanderaa City Collision, Chappell Const Milton, PEI 46
22 02 Mike MacKenzie Forbes Chevrolet Dartmouth, NS 36
23 82 Pete Miller ACL Construction Kennetcook, NS 36
24 39 Sandy Livingstone, Jr. Springhill, NS 31
25 24 Scott Livingstone Charlottetown, PEI 7
26 89 Donald Chisholm Nova Construction Antigonish, NS 4
27 6 Lowell Affleck Barter Centre Used Vehicles Summerside, PEI DNQ
28 51 Josh Jaillet Moncton, NB DNQ
29 1 Dave Heino DC Huskins & Sons Trucking Shelburne, NS DNQ
30 55 Jason Carnahan Moncton, NB DNQ

Lead Changes: 1 (Car 99: 1-19, Car 29: Lap 20-100)
Heat Winners: 8, 01, 48
B Feature: 5
Dash Winner: 29
Time Trials Winner (Fast Time): 29 (14.204 seconds, 76.035 mph)

Tucker Update:
We are pleased to report that Shawn Tucker is doing well; his leg is bruised up but not broken. He will be back piloting the #52 car for the next race on June 6th in Antigonish.