To the fans, sponsors, and teams...THANK YOU...for an incredible season!
Dodge Lucas Oil CAT Nova Truck Centres Irving Blending & Packaging Cummins Ron Mac

Smith Wins Lucas Oil 150


SHEDIAC, NB (September 6, 2008) - Wayne Smith of Timberlea, NS won the LUCAS OIL 150 at Centre for Speed, near Shediac, NB on Saturday afternoon. Smith used a lap car to steal the lead from EIT Race Radios Rookie of the Year contender Craig Slaunwhite with four laps remaining in the event. Slaunwhite, from Terence Bay, NS led the most laps on the day. The win was Smith's third Halcraft Print Checkered Flag of the season. Mike Stevens of Salisbury, NB scored his best career finish in third, ahead of Shawn Tucker of Fredericton, NB. Dave O'Blenis of Boundary Creek, NB rounded out the top five.

Slaunwhite won the Coast Tire Most Laps Led Award. Over 2500 faithful fans showed for the event, which was threatened by storms ahead of Hurricane Hanna. Only seven cautions slowed the race, including a competition yellow at lap 75 so the undercard Sportsman division had a chance to complete half of their event in case of rain. The event took just over an hour to complete.

Points contender Lonnie Sommerville of Saint John, NB took the Hipertech Pole Challenge to gather extra points and bonus money in his quest to catch Wayne Smith for his first championship. Sommerville left his seventh place starting spot to start 25th in the field. He finished in the sixth position.

The qualifying race that remained from the original event on August 3rd was cancelled.

Thirty one competitors attempted to qualify on the August 3rd date, with twenty nine of them returning for the completion of the event. No other cars were able to attempt to qualify for the event as per tour rules.

The CARQUEST Pro Stock Tour finale is next Saturday, September 13th at 4:00 p.m. when it returns to Scotia Speedworld, near Halifax, NS for the Parts for Trucks 200. The 2008 CARQUEST Pro Stock Tour Champion will be decided at that time. Wayne Smith of Timberlea, NS holds a slim points lead over Lonnie Sommerville of Saint John, NB and Shawn Turple of Enfield, NS.


Pos No. Name Laps Sponsor Hometown
1 44 Wayne Smith 150 ICI Paints Timberlea NS
2 23s Craig Slaunwhite 150 Atlantic CAT Terence Bay NS
3 26 Mike Stevens 150 R. Stevens Mechanical Salisbury NB
4 52 Shawn Tucker 150 Rockico Truck & Trailer Fredericton NB
5 48 Dave O'Blenis 150 Burger King Boundary Creek Nb
6 23 Lonnie Sommerville 150 AE MacKay Builders Saint John Nb
7 0 Shawn Turple 150 Dexter Construction Enfield NS
8 88 George Koszculics 150 Wear Well Garment Co. New Glasgow NS
9 66 Daryl Mahar 150 Inglis Jewelers Five Island Lake NS
10 29 Greg Proude 150 Challenger Farm Equip. Charlottetown PE
11 11 Marty Prevost 150 Mega Enterprises Fall River NS
12 76 Roger Crane 150 Montague Tire Montague PE
13 32 Chris Hughes 150 Pauley Equipment Brackley Beach PE
14 18 Darren MacKinnon 150 Shaws Towing Winsloe PE
15 37 Kris Fournier 150 Totally Tile Charlottetown PE
16 89 Donald Chisholm 150 Nova Construction Antigonish NS
17 80 Roger Miller 150 Stan's Auto Kennetcook NS
18 19v Darren Vanderaa 149 Chappell Construction Milton PE
19 92 Pete Miller 149 ACL Construction Kennetcook NS
20 01 Robbie MacLean 149 Robbies Truck and Trailer Charlottetown PE
21 35 Brad Mann 147 Subway Restaurants Glen Livet NB
22 39 Sandy Livingston, Jr. 147 Key Base Financial Springhill NS
23 5 Jonathan Hicken 145 Reynolds Well Drilling Montague PE
24 21 Shawn Pierce 135 Steve's Iron Works Bridgewater NS
25 24 Scott Livingston 116 Dalziels Auto Body Charlottetown PE
262 77 Gerry Curtis 54 Dent Doctor Fredericton NB
27 8 Kent Vincent 52 Atlantic Turbines Crapaud PE
DNS 88m Kevin Moore 0 Santucci Tiles Fredericton NB
DNS 87 Matt Harris 0 Harris Estates Fredericton Jct. NB
DNS 95 Mike Banks 0 Snap On Kingston NS
DNS 6 Lowell Affleck 0 Barter Centre Used Cars Summerside PE

Race Stats

Cautions: 7 - Laps: 12, 15, 53, 63, 66, 76 (break), 112

Leaders: Car 0, Laps 1-11; Car 23s, Lap 12-54; Car 44, Lap 55; Car 23s, Lap 56; Car 44, 57-64; Car 23s, Laps 65-146; Car 44, Lap 147-150

About CARQUEST Auto Parts
With nearly 4000 locations in North America, CARQUEST Auto Parts supplies the professional automotive service repair industry as well as do-it-yourselfers with replacement parts, tools and equipment.

About the CARQUEST Pro Stock Tour
The CARQUEST Pro Stock Tour is owned and operated by Maritime Pro Stock Tour Limited and features an annual series at five venues in the three Maritime Provinces of Canada. Former champions include John Flemming (2002, 2003, 2006), Shawn Tucker (2004, 2007), Wayne Smith (2001, 2008) and Rollie MacDonald (2005). For more information, call 902.481.2531 or click