Next Race: Saturday, September 9 | Lucas Oil 150 | Riverside Int'l Speedway
Dodge Lucas Oil CAT Nova Truck Centres Irving Blending & Packaging Cummins Steve Lewis Auto Body Ron Mac

The Heat is On for Saturday's Lucas Oil 150 at Centre for Speed


SHEDIAC, NB (September 4, 2008) - The cars and stars of the CARQUEST Pro Stock Tour will be at Centre for Speed this Saturday to pick up where they left off August 3 when rain halted the Lucas Oil 150. The only difference between then and now is what was a then hotly contested series with four races to go - is now a pressure cooker with just two races remaining to decide the 2008 championship, rookie of the year and numerous other bonus programs.

Series point leader Wayne Smith, the inaugural series champ, is hot-to-trot to claim his second series title and second-place point runner Lonnie Sommerville, the '07 series EIT Race Radio Rookie of the Year is just as eager to claim his first title. Only 23 points separate the top two now; only 24 points separated the top two August 3.

Third-place Shawn Turple, the '05 series top rookie, was runner-up to '07 champ Shawn Tucker - and if the saying "you have to lose one to make you want one enough to win it" holds true then Turple could end up at the top of the standings before all is said and done in the last two races of the '08 season. Turple is just 24 markers behind Sommerville.

Tucker and Kent Vincent round out the top five in the series standings with both having mathematical chances to move to the top spot - but would need the top three to have difficulties in order to get there - not out of the question especially considering both of the last two events are extended length features where strategy, reliability and luck play an even bigger role.

Sixth-place Craig Slaunwhite is the top contender for the '08 rookie title, holding a 42-point lead over Jonathan Hicken.

When rain halted the August 3 event the series had already completed its time trials and three of four heat races. When the green flag falls Saturday they will run the last heat race and the Lucas Oil 150 - for which Turple will start from the pole, flanked by Tucker, and followed by Hicken - all winners of qualifying heat races run August 3.

Sportsman division heats and a 50-lap feature will also be on the race card. The Lucas Oil 150 will be run in two segments with a 10-minute break on or about the midway point of the race.

Rain-out tickets from August 3 will be exchanged for free admission to this event. Fans are asked to present their ticket stubs from the rained out date to the Ticket Booth for an exchange ticket for the day. Those wishing to purchase tickets for the Lucas Oil 150 can do so in advance at Race Time in Moncton's Champlain Mall, and at the gate on race day.

The racing starts Saturday at 4 p.m.

The CARQUEST Tour season finale - the Parts for Trucks 200 - is next Saturday September 13 at Scotia Speedworld, near Halifax, NS.

No. - Name - Sponsor - Make - Hometown - Prov.
01 Robbie MacLean(R) Charlottetown Bottle & Metal Monte Carlo Winsloe PEI
0 Shawn Turple Dexter Construction Impala Enfield NS
5 Jonathan Hicken(R) Reynolds Well Drilling Impala Brudnell PEI
6 Lowell Affleck(R) Barter Centre Used Vehicles Monte Carlo Summerside PEI
8 Kent Vincent Atlantic Turbines Charger Crapaud PEI
13 Rollie MacDonald King Freight Lines Fusion Pictou NS
18 Darren MacKinnon Shaws Towing; MacKinnon Bros Svce Ctr. Monte Carlo Milton PEI
19V Darren Vanderaa Chappell Construction Monte Carlo Milton PEI
21 Shawn Pierce Steve's Iron Works Monte Carlo Bridgewater NS
23 Lonnie Sommerville A.E. MacKay Builders Impala Saint John NB
23S Craig Slaunwhite(R) Mountain Wild Blueberries; Atlantic CAT Monte Carlo White's Lake NS
24 Scott Livingstone Dalziels Auto Body Impala Charlottetown PEI
26 Mike Stevens R. Stevens Mechanicals Monte Carlo Riverview NB
29 Greg Proude Challenger Farm Equipment Charger North Wiltshire PEI
32 Chris Hughes Pauley Equipment Camry Brackley PEI
35 Brad Mann Subway Monte Carlo Glen Levit NB
37 Kris Fournier Totally Tile Charger Charlottetown PEI
39 Sandy Livingston Keybase Financial Group Monte Carlo Springhill NS
44 Wayne Smith ICI Paints/Color Your World Bayers Lake Monte Carlo Halifax NS
48 Dave O'Blenis Burger King Camry Boundary Creek NB
52 Shawn Tucker Rockico Truck & Trailer Impala Fredericton NB
66 Daryl Mahar Inglis Jewellers/ A1 Towing & Recovery Impala Hubley NS
77 Gerry Curtis Highway 101 Racing Monte Carlo Fredericton NB
80 Roger Miller Stan's Garage Monte Carlo North Noel Road NS
88 George Koszkulics Pioneer Coal Impala New Glasgow NS
89 Donald Chisholm Nova Construction Impala Antigonish NS
92 Pete Miller(R) A.C.L. Construction Monte Carlo Kennetcook NS
95 Mike Banks(R) Valley Auto Monte Carlo Berwick NS

Expected entry list is subject to change without notice.

About CARQUEST Auto Parts
With nearly 4000 locations in North America, CARQUEST Auto Parts supplies the professional automotive service repair industry as well as do-it-yourselfers with replacement parts, tools and equipment.

About the CARQUEST Pro Stock Tour
The CARQUEST Pro Stock Tour is owned and operated by Maritime Pro Stock Tour Limited and features an annual series at five venues in the three Maritime Provinces of Canada. Former champions include John Flemming (2002, 2003, 2006), Shawn Tucker (2004, 2007), Wayne Smith (2001, 2008) and Rollie MacDonald (2005). For more information, call 902.481.2531 or click