Next Race: Saturday, September 9 | Lucas Oil 150 | Riverside Int'l Speedway
Dodge Lucas Oil CAT Nova Truck Centres Irving Blending & Packaging Cummins Steve Lewis Auto Body Ron Mac

Tucker Wins Ron MacGillivray
Chevrolet 100


JAMES RIVER, NS (June 7, 2008) - Shawn Tucker won the Ron MacGillivray Chevrolet 100 at Riverside Speedway, located near Antigonish, NS on Saturday night. Tucker, from Fredericton, NB took the lead on lap 93 to take the second Halcraft Print checkered flag of the season on the CARQUEST Pro Stock Tour. Kent Vincent of Crapaud, PE finished second, ahead of John Flemming of Halifax, NS. Lonnie Sommerville of Saint John, NB and Daryl Mahar of Five Island Lake, NS rounded out the top five.

Vincent won the Coast Tire Most Laps Led Award. Over 5000 fans saw twelve lead changes between five different drivers. Only 6 cautions slow the event, which took 54 minutes to complete.

None of the top five cars opted to take the Hipertech Pole Challenge.

Jonathan Hicken of Montague, PE, Darren MacKinnon of Winsloe, PE and Flemming won heat races. Vincent won the Dash for the Pole, featuring the top nine finishers in the Atlantic Tiltload Time Trials. Vincent also had the fastest time on the 1/3 mile high banked, with a new track record, at a blistering speed of over 100 miles per hour.

Rollie MacDonald of Pictou, NS won the ″B″ Feature, ahead of the King of the Road Roger Miller of North Noel Road, NS and Brad Mann of Glen Livet, NB.

Thirty-five of the Maritimes top drivers attempted to qualify for the Main Feature.

Prior to the beginning of the Main Feature, Riverside Speedway celebrated 25 years of Pro Stock racing in the Maritimes by paying tribute to ten former Champions. Retired heroes Terry Clattenburg, Dave Gorveatt, Paul Hebert, Junior Kelly and Greg Sewart; the late Scott Fraser; and current CARQUEST Tour competitors and former champions Flemming, MacDonald, Wayne Smith of Timberlea, NS and Tucker were all part of the ceremonies.


Pos No. Name Laps Sponsor Hometown
1 52 Shawn Tucker 100 Rockico Truck & Trailer Fredericton NB
2 8 Kent Vincent 100 Atlantic Turbines Crapaud, PE
3 97 John Flemming 100 CertainTeed Halifax, NS
4 23 Lonnie Sommerville 100 AE McKay Builders Saint John, NB
5 66 Daryl Mahar 100 Inglis Jewelers Five Island Lake, NS
6 44 Wayne Smith 100 ICI Paints Timerberlea, NS
7 26 Mike Stevens 100 R. Stevens Mechanical Salisbury, NB
8 29 Greg Proude 100 Challeneger Farm Equip Charlottetown, PE
9 5 Jonathan Hicken 100 Reynolds Well Drilling Montague, PE
10 88 George Koszkulics 100 Wear Well Garments New Glasgow, NS
11 32 Chris Hughes 100 Pauley Equip Brackley Beach, PE
12 02 Mike MacKenzie 100 Forbes Chevrolet Dartmouth, Ns
13 35 Brad Mann 100 Subway Restaurants Glen Levit, NB
14 4 Dale Holmes 100 Castle Building Centres West Covehead, PE
15 18 Darren MacKinnon 100 Shaws Towing Winsloe, PE
16 0 Shawn Turple 100 Dexter Construction Enfield, NS
17 1 Robbie MacLean 100 Robbies Trucke & Trailer Charlottetown, PE
18 23s Craig Slaunwhite 100 Atlantic CAT Terrence Bay, NS
19 19v Darren Vanderaa 99 Chappell Construction Milton, PE
20 01z Dean MacInnis 99 Ideal Concrete Whycocmagh, NS
21 6 Lowell Affleck 98 Carter Centre Used Cars Summerside, PE
22 89 Donald Chisholm 95 Nova Construction Antigonish, NS
23 92 Pete Miller 92 ACL Construction Kennetcook, NS
24 13 Rollie MacDonald 40 King Freight Lines Pictou, NS
25 80 Roger Miller 39 Stan's Auto Kennetcook, NS
26 48 Dave O'Blenis 30 Burger King Boundary Creek, NS
27 81 Bob White 16 Stuart Pontiac Kennetcook, NS
28 21 Shawn Pierce 13 Steve's Iron Works Bridgewater, NS

Race Stats
Cautions: 6
Lead Changes: 12 among five drivers
George Koszkulics: 1-3
Kent Vincent: 4-31; 34-42; 67; 70; 81-92
John Flemming: 32-33; 43-66; 68-69; 71-79
Darren MacKinnon: 80
Shawn Tucker: 93-100
Heat Winners: Darren MacKinnin, Jonathan Hicken, John Flemming
Dash Winner: Kent Vincent
Time Trials Winner (Fast Time): Kent Vincent (14.271 seconds, 100.904 mph)
″B″ Feature Top 3: 1) Rollie MacDonald; 2) Roger Miller; 3) Brad Mann

The CARQUEST Pro Stock Tour returns to action in two weeks time, when makes it?s first of two stops to the New Brunswick Capital. Speedway 660 in Geary will be the site of round three of the 2008 season, the CARQUEST 100, on June 21st.

With nearly 4000 locations in North America, CARQUEST Auto Parts supplies the professional automotive service repair industry as well as do-it-yourselfers with replacement parts, tools and equipment.

The CARQUEST Pro Stock Tour is operated by the Maritime Pro Stock Tour Limited and features an eleven race series at five different venues throughout the Maritime Provinces. Top drivers from all three provinces compete, including previous champions Shawn Tucker, Rollie MacDonald, John Flemming and Wayne Smith. For more information, visit or call our administration office Monday to Friday at (902) 481-2531.