To the fans, sponsors, and teams...THANK YOU...for an incredible season!
Dodge Lucas Oil CAT Nova Truck Centres Irving Blending & Packaging Cummins Ron Mac

37 Teams On Tap For Tribute To Champions Saturday at Riverside Speedway


JAMES RIVER, NS (June 3, 2008) - Riverside International Speedway is ready for its 2008 race season, set to start this Saturday June 7 with the Ron MacGillivray Chevrolet 100 - round two of 11 for the CARQUEST Pro Stock Tour. A series record of 37 teams have pre-registered for the event, which will celebrate a quarter-century of sanctioned stock car racing in the Maritimes. In so doing the facility will pay homage to the 10 champions of those 25 years who blazed the trail for the fans and competitors of the 2008 CARQUEST Pro Stock Tour, including:

  • Terry Clattenburg, Dartmouth, NS (4-time MASCAR champ: 1986, 1989, 1990, 1991)

  • John Flemming, Halifax, NS (3-time CARQUEST Tour champ: 2002, 2003, 2006)

  • The late Scott Fraser, Shubenacadie, NS (2-time MASCAR champ: 1996, 1998)

  • Dave Gorveatt, Charlottetown, PE (1997 Dave Gorveatt)

  • Paul Hebert, Shediac River, NB (1988 MASCAR champ)

  • Junior Kelly, Lower Sackville, NS (1985 MASCAR champ)

  • Rollie MacDonald, Pictou, NS (1984 MASCAR champ; 2005 CARQUEST Tour champ)

  • Greg Sewart, Halifax, NS (5-time MASCAR champ: 1983, 1987, 1992, 1993, 1995)

  • Wayne Smith, Halifax, NS (3-time MASCAR champ: 1994, 1999, 2000; and 2001, 2008 CARQUEST Tour champ)

  • Shawn Tucker, Fredericton, NB (2-time CARQUEST Tour champ, 2004, 2007)

Plenty of special elements have been added to the June 7 show as part of the tribute including the unveiling of a "Champion's Alley" where fans can view storyboards specifically created to pay tribute to the careers of each champion, a chance to meet the champs and to get their autographs during the "25 Years of Champions Track Walk," and the chance to purchase a special limited edition t-shirt created especially for the event - with the net proceeds being donated to the Maritime Motorsports Hall of Fame.

Veteran motorsports promoter and announcer Jerry Lawrence ("Jer Bear") will share the microphone with series announcer Andy Campbell to offer memorable moments from our racing past.

A quartet of the champions being honoured - Flemming, Smith, Tucker and MacDonald - are among the stout list of 37 expected entries for the Ron MacGillivray Chevrolet 100.

Regional favourites Donald Chisholm (Antigonish) and George Koszkulics (New Glasgow) are also on the list, as is defending race winner Mike MacKenzie (Dartmouth) and series point leader Shawn Turple (Enfield) - and many more...

1 David Heino Barrington, NS
4 Dale Holmes West Covehead, PEI
5 Jonathan Hicken Brudenell, PEI
6 Lowell Affleck Summerside, PEI
8 Kent Vincent Crapaud, PEI
11 Marty Prevost Fall River, NS
13 Rollie MacDonald Pictou, NS
18 Darren MacKinnon Milton, PEI
19 Tim Rodgers Upper Coverdale, NB
19v Darren Vanderaa Milton, PEI
21 Shawn Pierce Bridgewater, NS
23s Craig Slaunwhite White's Lake, NS
23 Lonnie Sommerville Saint John, NB
24 Scott Livingston Sherwood, PEI
26 Mike Stevens Riverview, NB
29 Greg Proude North Wiltshire, PEI
30 Jeff Campbell Halifax, NS
32 Chris Hughes Brackley Beach, PEI
33 Brian Jollimore Halifax, NS
35 Brad Mann Glen Levit, NB
39 Sandy Livingston Springhill, NS
44 Wayne Smith Halifax, NS
48 Dave O'Blenis Boundary Creek, NB
51 Bob Nielsen Vernon River, PEI
52 Shawn Tucker Fredericton, NB
66 Daryl Mahar Hubley, NS
76 Roger Crane Montague, PEI
80 Roger Miller Elmsdale, NS
81 Bobby White Kennetcook, NS
88 George Koszkulics New Glasgow, NS
89 Donald Chisholm Antigonish, NS
92 Pete Miller Kennetcook, NS
97 John Flemming Halifax, NS
0 Shawn Turple Enfield, NS
01 Robbie MacLean Winsloe, PEI
01z Dean MacInnis Wycocomagh, NS
02 Mike MacKenzie Dartmouth, NS
Entry list subject to change without notice.

With 37 teams expected Atlantic Tiltload Time Trials, heat races and the "B" Feature will again play an important part in the show - to determine which teams will make the 26-car starting grid for the 100-lap pro stock feature race.

Besides the "25 Years and Going Strong" tribute and the pro stock races, the event will feature the season opener for the '08 Highland Home Hardware Sportsman Series.

Pre-race festivities, including pro stock time trials, start at 5 p.m.; racing starts at 6.

Advance tickets for the Ron MacGillivray Chevrolet 100 are now available through Riverside's new in-house computerized box office ticket system. In anticipation of the demand for tickets to this special tribute event, a limited number of reserved seats are being offered. Reserved seats are $28.50 for adults, $10 for youth; general admission seating is $25 for adults, $8 for youth. Seating layout and ticket ordering information is available at