To the fans, sponsors, and teams...THANK YOU...for an incredible season!
Dodge Lucas Oil CAT Nova Truck Centres Irving Blending & Packaging Cummins Ron Mac

Turple Wins CARQUEST 100 at Speedway 660


GEARY, NB (June 21, 2008) - Shawn Turple of Enfield, NS won the CARQUEST 100 at Speedway 660, near Fredericton, NB on Saturday night. Turple and Wayne Smith battled side by side for the lead over numerous occasions throughout the event. Smith, of Timberlea, NS settled for second, ahead of Dave O'Blenis of Salisbury, NB.

Turple took the lead for the final time on lap 88 to become the first duplicate winner of the Halcraft Print checkered flag in the 2008 season. Chris Hughes of Brackley, PE and Lonnie Sommerville of Saint John, NB rounded out the top five. Smith won the Coast Tire Most Laps Led Award. Over 2500 fans saw Turple and Smith swap the lead five times throughout the course of the event. Only five cautions slow the event, which took fifty five minutes to complete. None of the top five cars opted to take the Hipertech Pole Challenge.

Don Chisholm of Antigonish, NS Greg Proude of Charlottetown, PE and Mike Stevens Salisbury, NB won heat races. Turple won the Dash for the Pole, featuring the top nine finishers in the Atlantic Tiltload Time Trials. Smith had the fastest time on the ¼ mile oval, with an average speed of nearly 67 miles per hour. Brent Wiggins Fredericton, NB won the "B" Feature, ahead of Darren Vanderaa of Milton, PE and Tim Rodgers of Upper Coverdale, NB.

Thirty of the top drivers from the Maritimes attempted to qualify for the Main Feature. This was the third consecutive race to start the season that at least thirty cars have attempted to qualify for a CARQUEST Pro Stock Tour event.

The CARQUEST Pro Stock Tour returns to action next Saturday, June 28th when makes it?s first of two stops to the beautiful shores of Prince Edward Island. Raceway Park will be the site of the Parts for Trucks 100. This will also be the first of four events in the Parts for Trucks Challenge. Island drivers Kent Vincent of Crapaud, Darren MacKinnon of Milton and EIT Rookie of the Year contender Jonathan Hicken of Brudenell will lead the strong contingent of home province heroes at the high banked ¼ mile oval, located in Oyster Bed Bridge.


Pos No. Name Laps Sponsor Hometown
1 0 Shawn Turple 99 Dexter Construction Enfield, NS
2 44 Wayne Smith 99 ICI Paints Timberlea NS
3 48 Dave O'Blenis 99 Burger King Boundary Creek NB
4 32 Chris Hughes 99 Pauley Equipement Brackley Beach PE
5 23 Lonnie Sommerville 99 AE MacKay Builders Saint John NB
6 13 Rollie MacDonald 99 King Freight Lines Pictou NS
7 29 Greg Proude 99 Challenger Farm Equip. Charlottetown PE
8 52 Shawn Tucker 99 Rockico Truck & Trailer Fredericton NB
9 20 Greg Fahey 99 Rexall St. Stephen NB
10 01 Robbie MacLean 99 Ford Electric Charlottetown PE
11 26 Mike Stevens 98 R. Stevens Mechanical Salisbury NB
12 8 Kent Vincent 98 Atlantic Turbines Crapaud PE
13 35 Brad Mann 98 Subway Restaurants Glen Livet NB
14 5 Jonathan Hicken 98 Reynolds Well Drilling Montague PE
15 19v Darren Vanderaa 98 Chappell Construction Milton PE
16 23s Craig Slaunwhite 98 Atlantic CAT Terence Bay NS
17 97 John Flemming 98 Certainteed Halifax NS
18 17 Brent Wiggins 97 Sign Factory Fredericton NB
19 80 Roger Miller 96 Stan's Auto Kennetcook NS
20 39 Sandy Livingston 96 Key Base Financial Springhill NS
21 4 Dale Holmes 94 Castle Building Centres West Covehead PE
22 18 Darren MacKinnon 92 Shaws Towing Winsloe PE
23 87 Matt Harris 87 Harris and Son Trucking Fredericton Jct. NB
24 66 Daryl Mahar 78 Inglis Jewelers Five Island Lake NS
25 89 Donald Chisholm 45 Nova Construction Antigonish NS
26 19 Tim Rodgers 39 Philips Bros Excavating Upper Coverdale NB

Race Stats
Cautions: 5
Lead Changes: 4 among two drivers
Shawn Turple: 1-27; 33-37; 88-99
Wayne Smith: 28-32; 38-87
Heat Winners: Donald Chisholm, Greg Proude, Mike Stevens
Dash Winner: Shawn Turple
Time Trials Winner (Fast Time): Wayne Smith (13.502 seconds, 66.657 mph)
"B" Feature Top Three: 1. Brent Wiggins; 2. Darren Vanderaa; 3. Tim Rodgers

With nearly 4000 locations in North America, CARQUEST Auto Parts supplies the professional automotive service repair industry as well as do-it-yourselfers with replacement parts, tools and equipment.

The CARQUEST Pro Stock Tour is operated by the Maritime Pro Stock Tour Limited and features an eleven race series at five different venues throughout the Maritime Provinces. Top drivers from all three provinces compete, including previous champions Shawn Tucker, Rollie MacDonald, John Flemming and Wayne Smith. For more information, visit or call our administration office Monday to Friday at (902) 481-2531.