Next Race: Saturday, September 9 | Lucas Oil 150 | Riverside Int'l Speedway
Dodge Lucas Oil CAT Nova Truck Centres Irving Blending & Packaging Cummins Steve Lewis Auto Body Ron Mac

CARQUEST Pro Stock Tour Invades Speedway 660 Saturday


GEARY, NB (June 18, 2008) - The cars and stars of the CARQUEST Pro Stock Tour will make their first stop of the '08 season in New Brunswick this Saturday as the series invades Speedway 660. As has come to be expected, a number of weekly pro stock competitors will defend their "home turf" against the series regulars, with 34 of the top race teams in the Maritimes expected to enter the event.

This will mark the third consecutive race where the series will see over 30 cars - double what most short track racing series throughout North America would be happy with; indeed - would even brag about.

As the car count is second to none, so is the series level of competition. Race # 1 at Scotia Speedworld saw just 1.129-seconds separate the top 30 cars in time trials (of the 34 entered) and race # 2 at Riverside International Speedway saw a gap of only 0.874-seconds separate the top 30 cars that competed in the time trials (of the 35 entered).

The hunt for the checkered flag will be fierce Saturday, with the charge led by current series point leader and inaugural series champion Wayne Smith (Halifax, NS), who is hungry for his first win on the season. Smith has led the most laps of any of the 37 drivers who have competed in the series first two events of '08 - and been the most consistent finisher, hence his points lead - but won't be satisfied until he visits Victory Lane.

Local fans will have lots to cheer about with several track regulars among the mix of series regulars from the region.

Shawn Tucker (Fredericton), two-time and defending series champion - and winner of the series second visit to Speedway 660 in '07 - enters this race carrying the momentum of being the series most recent race winner, scoring the victory at Riverside Speedway June 7. Tucker, a regular competitor with the series since it's inception in '01, is also a former track pro stock division champion and calls Speedway 660 "home."

Besides Tucker, the CARQUEST Tour roster boasts two other former Speedway 660 pro stock division champs: Brad Mann (Glen Levit) and Dave O'Blenis (Boundary Creek). And the series 2007 rookie of the year Lonnie Sommerville (Saint John) is also the 2006 winner of the annual 250-lap event at Speedway 660.

Track pro stock division favourites Greg Fahey (St. Stephen), Brent Wiggins (Fredericton), Matt Harris (Fredericton Jct.) and Kevin Moore (Fredericton) have also indicated they will enter the CARQUEST Pro Stock Tour 100 this Saturday; Harris has already proven himself a winner on the CARQUEST Tour, picking up a series win in August '04 at Speedway 660.

Former series champion Rollie MacDonald (Pictou, NS) and John Flemming (Halifax, NS) are on the expected entry list, as is the winner of round 1 on the series this year Shawn Turple (Enfield, NS).

Two rounds of qualifying (time trials and heat races) will set a 26-car starting grid for the 100-lap feature race. Pro stock Atlantic Tiltload Time Trials start at 5:10 p.m.; racing starts at 6. The pit gates open at Noon and the grandstand gates open at 4 p.m.

Besides the pro stock races, the event will feature regular points racing in the Speedway 660 Martin's Home Heating Sportsman (30 lap feature), and Coast Tire Street Stock (20 lap feature) divisions.

Admission is $20 for Adults (16 and over), $15 for Youth (ages 9-15); children eight and under are admitted free. A Family Pass is available for $75 - good for two adults, two youth AND four pop and four fries.

Showing Car No. - Name - Hometown
01 - Robbie MacLean, Charlottetown PE
0 - Shawn Turple, Enfield NS
4 - Dale Holmes, West Covehead PE
5 - Jonathan Hicken, Montague PE
6 - Lowell Affleck, Summerside PE
8 - Kent Vincent, Crapaud PE
11 - Marty Prevost, Fall River NS
13 - Rollie MacDonald, Pictou NS
17 - Brent Wiggins, Fredericton NB
18 - Darren MacKinnon, Winsloe PE
19 - Tim Rodgers, Upper Coverdale NB
19v - Darren Vanderaa, Milton PE
20 - Greg Fahey, St. Stephen NB
21 - Shawn Pierce, Bridgewater NS
23 - Lonnie Sommerville, Saint John NB
23s - Craig Slaunwhite, Terence Bay NS
26 - Mike Stevens, Salisbury NB
29 - Greg Proude, Charlottetown PE
30 - Jeff Campbell, Halifax NS
32 - Chris Hughes, Brackley Beach PE
35 - Brad Mann, Glen Livet NB
39 - Sandy Livingston, Jr., Springhill NS
44 - Wayne Smith, Timberlea NS
48 - Dave O'Blenis, Boundary Creek NB
51 - Bob Nielsen, Winsloe PE
52 - Shawn Tucker, Fredericton NB
66 - Daryl Mahar, Five Island Lake NS
76 - Roger Crane, Montague PE
80 - Roger Miller, Kennetcook NS
87 - Matt Harris, Fredericton Junction NB
88m - Kevin Moore, Fredericton NB
89 - Donald Chisholm, Antigonish NS
92 - Pete Miller, Kennetcook NS
97 - John Flemming, Halifax NS
Expected entry list is subject to change without notice.

Driver bios and current CARQUEST Pro Stock Tour point standings, after two of 11 events, can be found here.

About Speedway 660
Speedway 660 is WicKID Family Fun. The 1/3 of a mile high-banked paved oval features three classes of racing on a weekly basis: Irving Lubricants Pro Stocks, Martin's Home Heating, and Coast Tire Street Stocks. Over 60,000 people are expected to attend over 25 events during the 2006 season. Speedway 660 is located off Highway 7 on Route 660 in Geary, NB, and is within minutes of Saint John and Fredericton. To learn more about Speedway 660 please visit

About CARQUEST Auto Parts
With nearly 4000 locations in North America, CARQUEST Auto Parts supplies the professional automotive service repair industry as well as do-it-yourselfers with replacement parts, tools and equipment.

About the CARQUEST Pro Stock Tour
The CARQUEST Pro Stock Tour is owned and operated by Maritime Pro Stock Tour Limited and features an annual series at five venues in the three Maritime Provinces of Canada. Former champions include John Flemming (2002, 2003, 2006), Shawn Tucker (2004, 2007), Wayne Smith (2001, 2008) and Rollie MacDonald (2005). For more information, call 902.481.2531 or click