To the fans, sponsors, and teams...THANK YOU...for an incredible season!
Dodge Lucas Oil CAT Nova Truck Centres Irving Blending & Packaging Cummins Ron Mac

Smith Wins Forbes Chevrolet 150


HALIFAX, NS (July 5, 2008) - Wayne Smith of Timberlea, NS won the Forbes Chevrolet 150 at Scotia Speedworld, in Halifax, NS on Saturday night. Smith and Lonnie Sommerville staged war on each other, swapping the lead several times throughout the 150 lap event. Smith's win extended his points lead and it was his first Halcraft Print Checkered Flag of the season.

Sommerville, of Saint John, NB came home second, ahead of Donald Chisholm of Antigonish, NS. Shawn Turple of Enfield, NS and Kent Vincent of Crapaud, PE rounded out the top five.

Smith won the Coast Tire Most Laps Led Award. Over 3000 fans saw Smith and Sommerville traded the lead twelve times between them. Only one other driver led a lap.

Twelve cautions slowed the event, which took 1 hour and 40 minutes to complete.

John Flemming of Halifax, NS accepted the opportunity to take the Hipertech Pole Challenge. He gave up his Pole (1st place) starting spot to fall back to the 25th at the start of the race to compete for extra points and money. He finished in the 17th position.

Rollie MacDonald of Pictou, NS, Mike MacKenzie of Dartmouth, NS and Shawn Tucker of Fredericton, NB won heat races.

Flemming won the Dash for the Pole, featuring the top nine finishers in the Atlantic Tiltload Time Trials. Donald Chisholm of Antigonish, NS had the fastest time on the 3/10 mile oval, with an average speed over 74 miles per hour.

Robbie MacLean of Charlottetown, PE won the "B" Feature, ahead of Brad Mann of Glen Livet, NB and Roger Crane of Montague, PE. Also qualifying for the Main Feature from the "B" Feature was Darren Vanderaa of Milton, PE.

Thirty six of the top drivers from the Maritimes attempted to qualify for the Main Feature, a new record field for the CARQUEST Pro Stock Tour.

In a tribute to Canadian Motorsports Hall of Fame member Jim Hallahan, the #02 Forbes Chevrolet of Mike MacKenzie was painted and lettered as the #33 "Hugger" Camaro that Hallahan drove throughout the 1970's.

Jim Hallahan, July 1971
Mike MacKenzie, July 2008

The CARQUEST Pro Stock Tour returns to action in two weeks time at the high banks of Riverside Speedway. The IWK 250, the crown jewel on the 2008 CARQUEST Pro Stock Tour schedule, will be held on Saturday July 19th. This is a CARQUEST Pro Stock Tour sanctioned event, with "open" competition rules which will allow cars from other series to compete. Nearly fifty cars are expected to attempt to qualify for the event, including NASCAR Cup drivers Regan Smith and Aric Almirola.

UNOFFICIAL RESULTS - THE FORBES CHEVROLET 150 - July 5, 2008 at Scotia Speedworld

Pos No. Name Laps Sponsor Hometown
1 44 Wayne Smith 150 ICI Paints Timberlea NS
2 23 Lonnie Sommerville 150 AE MacKay Builders Saint John NB
3 89 Donald Chisholm 150 Nova Construction Antigonish NS
4 0 Shawn Turple 150 Dexter Construction Enfield NS
5 8 Kent Vincent 150 Atlantic Turbines Crapaud PE
6 52 Shawn Tucker 150 Rockico Truck & Trailer Fredericton NB
7 13 Rollie MacDonald 150 King Freight Lines Pictou NS
8 29 Greg Proude 150 Challenger Farm Equip. Charlottetown PE
9 23s Craig Slaunwhite 150 Atlantic CAT Terence Bay NS
10 5 Jonathan Hicken 150 Reynolds Well Drilling Montague PE
11 18 Darren MacKinnon 150 Shaws Towing Winsloe PE
12 66 Daryl Mahar 150 Inglis Jewelers Five Island Lake NS
13 35 Brad Mann 150 Subway Restaurants Glen Livet NB
14 33h Mike MacKenzie 150 Forbes Chevrolet Dartmouth NS
15 94 Russell Smith 150 Signs by Chris Timberlea NS
16 26 Mike Stevens 150 R. Stevens Mechanical Salisbury NB
17 97 John Flemming 150 Certainteed Halifax NS
18 76 Roger Crane 149 Montague Tire Montague PE
19 19v Darren Vanderaa 148 Chappell Construction Milton PE
20 32 Chris Hughes 148 Pauley Equipement Brackley Beach PE
21 01 Robbie MacLean 145 Ford Electric Charlottetown PE
22 80 Roger Miller 142 Stan's Auto Kennetcook NS
23 48 Dave O'Blenis 74 Burger King Boundary Creek NB
24 4 Dale Holmes 35 Castle Building Centres West Covehead PE
25 21 Shawn Pierce 34 Steve's Iron Works Bridgewater NS
26 11 Marty Prevost 34 Mega Enterprises Fall River NS
27 39 Sandy Livingston 34 Key Base Financial Springhill NS
28 19 Tim Rodgers 28 Philips Bros Excavating Upper Coverdale NB

Race Stats
Cautions: 12
Lead Changes: 13 among three drivers
Lonnie Sommerville: 1-19; 31-44; 74; 79-84; 112-114; 138-139
Wayne Smith: 20-29; 45-73; 75-78; 85-111; 115-137' 140-150
Mike MacKenzie: 30
Heat Winners: Rollie MacDonald, Mike MacKenzie, Shawn Tucker
Dash Winner: John Flemming
Fastest Qualifier: Donald Chisholm (14.577 seconds)
"B" Feature Top Three: 1. Robbie MacLean; 2. Brad Mann; 3. Roger Crane
Did Not Start: Bobby White; David Heino; Jeff Campbell; Mike Banks; Brian Jollimore; Kris Fournier; Lowell Affleck; Pete Miller

About CARQUEST Auto Parts
With nearly 4000 locations in North America, CARQUEST Auto Parts supplies the professional automotive service repair industry as well as do-it-yourselfers with replacement parts, tools and equipment.

About the CARQUEST Pro Stock Tour
The CARQUEST Pro Stock Tour is owned and operated by Maritime Pro Stock Tour Limited and features an annual series at five venues in the three Maritime Provinces of Canada. Former champions include John Flemming (2002, 2003, 2006), Shawn Tucker (2004, 2007), Wayne Smith (2001, 2008) and Rollie MacDonald (2005). For more information, call 902.481.2531 or click