Next Race: Saturday, September 9 | Lucas Oil 150 | Riverside Int'l Speedway
Dodge Lucas Oil CAT Nova Truck Centres Irving Blending & Packaging Cummins Steve Lewis Auto Body Ron Mac



Craig Slaunwhite won the Scott Kelly Memorial 100 presented by Parts for Trucks at Riverside International Speedway, located near Antigonish, NS on Saturday night. Slaunwhite, from Terence Bay, NS and Lonnie Sommerville of Saint John, NB swapped the lead several times until a heavy mist finally halted the event on lap 77 of the race. Slaunwhite, an EIT Race Radio Rookie of the Year contender became the seventh different driver to take the Halcraft Print checkered flag of the season. Sommerville finished second, ahead Shawn Tucker from Fredericton, NB. Wayne Smith of Timberlea, NS and Donald Chisholm of Antigonish, NS rounded out the top five.

Slaunwhite won the Coast Tire Most Laps Led Award. Over 3000 fans saw the two each take three turns leading the event. Six cautions slowed the race, which took 45 minutes to complete.

None of the top five cars opted to take the Hipertech Pole Challenge.

Jonathan Hicken from Montague, PE, Mike MacKenzie of Dartmouth and Dave O'Blenis from Salisbury, NB won heat races. Sommerville won the Dash for the Pole, featuring the top nine finishers in the Atlantic Tiltload Time Trials. He also had the fastest time on the 1/3 mile high banks, at a blistering speed of nearly 100 miles per hour.

The beginning of the event was delayed over an hour due to rain showers.

Twenty nine of the Maritimes top drivers attempted to qualify for the Main Feature.

The Scott Kelly Memorial 100 was presented by long time CARQUEST Tour sponsor and Kelly's backer when he competed, Parts for Trucks. Kelly was a former MASCAR Tour regular who lost his battle with cancer at far too young of an age. On hand for the event were Kelly's parents, Junior and Brenda and his wife, Wanda. Former tour Champion Wayne Smith had his car painted like Kelly's former #12 as a tribute to the family. The Kelly's were presented with his hood in victory lane autographed by all participants in the race as a souvenir.

The CARQUEST Pro Stock Tour returns to action next week, when it makes its final stop on Prince Edward Island. Raceway Park in Oyster Bed Bridge will be the site of round nine of 11 on the 2008 season, the CARQUEST 100, on August 23.


Pos No. Name Laps Sponsor Hometown
1 23s Craig Slaunwhite 77 Atlantic CAT Terence Bay NS
2 23 Lonnie Sommerville 77 AE MacKay Builders Saint John NB
3 52 Shawn Tucker 77 Rockico Truck & Trailer Fredericton NB
4 12 Wayne Smith 77 ICI Paints Timberlea NS
5 89 Donald Chisholm 77 Nova Construction Antigonish NS
6 13 Rollie MacDonald 77 King Freight Lines Pictou NS
7 48 Dave O'Blenis 77 Burger King Boundary Creek NB
8 92 Pete Miller 77 ACL Construction Kennetcook NS
9 0 Shawn Turple 77 Dexter Construction Enfield NS
10 32 Chris Hughes 77 Pauley Equipement Brackley Beach PE
11 29 Greg Proude 77 Challenger Farm Equip. Charlottetown PE
12 6 Lowell Affleck 77 Barter Centre Used Cars Summerside PE
13 19v Darren Vanderaa 77 Chappell Construction Milton PE
14 66 Daryl Mahar 77 Inglis Jewelers Five Island Lake NS
15 88 George Koszculics 77 Wear Well Garmet Co. New Glasgow NS
16 76 Roger Crane 77 Montague Tire Montague PE
17 1 Robbie MacLean 77 Robbies Truck and Trailer Charlottetown PE
18 26 Mike Stevens 77 R. Stevens Mechanical Salisbury NB
19 35 Brad Mann 76 Subway Restaurants Glen Livet NB
20 77 Gerry Curtis 76   Fredericton NB
21 18 Darren MacKinnon 72 Shaws Towing Winsloe PE
22 4 Dale Holmes 66 Castle Building Centres West Covehead PE
23 5 Jonathan Hicken 66 Reynolds Well Drilling Montague PE
24 8 Kent Vincent 65 Atlantic Turbines Crapaud PE
25 21 Shawn Pierce 58 Steve's Iron Works Bridgewater NS
26 37 Kris Fournier 77 Totally Tile Charlottetown PE
27 80 Roger Miller 27 Stan's Auto Kennetcook NS/font>
28 39 Sandy Livingston, Jr. 20 Key Base Financial Springhill NS
29 2 Mike MacKenzie 18 Forbes Chevrolet Dartmouth NS

Race Stats
Cautions: 6
Lead Changes: 5
Lap Leaders: Lonnie Sommerville (1); Craig Slaunwhite (2-18); Sommerville (19-28); Slaunwhite (29-61); Sommerville (62-66); Slaunwhite (67-77).
Dash Winner: Lonnie Sommerville
Heat Winners: Jonathan Hicken, Mike MacKenzie, Dave O'Blenis
Fastest Qualifier: Lonnie Sommerville (14.441 seconds, 99.924 mph)


About CARQUEST Auto Parts
With nearly 4000 locations in North America, CARQUEST Auto Parts supplies the professional automotive service repair industry as well as do-it-yourselfers with replacement parts, tools and equipment.

About the CARQUEST Pro Stock Tour
The CARQUEST Pro Stock Tour is owned and operated by Maritime Pro Stock Tour Limited and features an annual series at five venues in the three Maritime Provinces of Canada. Former champions include John Flemming (2002, 2003, 2006), Shawn Tucker (2004, 2007), Wayne Smith (2001, 2008) and Rollie MacDonald (2005). For more information, call 902.481.2531 or click