Next Race: Saturday, September 9 | Lucas Oil 150 | Riverside Int'l Speedway
Dodge Lucas Oil CAT Nova Truck Centres Irving Blending & Packaging Cummins Steve Lewis Auto Body Ron Mac

CARQUEST Pro Stock Tour Awards Presented


Truro, NS (October 30, 2007) – Drivers and teams gathered Saturday night at the Glengarry Best Western Hotel in Truro, NS to celebrate the 2007 season. A capacity crowd including sponsors, car owners and drivers, crewmembers, tour staff and dignitaries enjoyed an incredible buffet before the presentations. The seventh season of the CARQUEST Maritime Pro Stock Tour came to a close with the awarding of the year end point and contingency bonuses totaling nearly $60,000.

Shawn Tucker, Fredericton, NB was honoured as the CARQUEST Pro Stock Tour 2007 champion. Tucker took home $10,000 from the CARQUEST $50,000 points fund along with a standing ovation from those present. Wayne Johnston, CARQUEST Atlantic VP, was on hand to present Tucker with his award, along with the other 19 drivers who finished in the top 20 in the 2007-point chase. Shawn Turple of Enfield, NS finished in second place, while Wayne Smith of Timberlea, NS was third.

A large number of vendor and contingency awards were also presented during the evening.

Matt Harris, Fredericton Junction, NB had his name drawn by Larry Sommerville in a draw for an ARP body, courtesy of Lonnie Sommerville Racing products.

Stephen Henderson of R&D Performancenter presented Roger Crane, Montague, PE with the AFCO shock award drawing his name from eligible drivers. Henderson then drew the name of Crapaud, PE’s Kent Vincent, who received the Five Star Racing body award.

John Garnhum of CARQUEST presented the Hard Charger award for the drivers gaining the most positions during the year. Tim Rodgers of Upper Coverdale, NB and Stacey Clements of Five Island Lake, NS were co-winners, finishing tied for first place. Bobby White of Kennetcook, NS was third.

The Most Laps Led award was also presented by John Granhum, with Wayne Smith leading the most laps. Shawn Tucker was runner-up and Kent Vincent was third.

The Parts For Trucks challenge was a four race special, combining the points from the four Parts For Trucks sponsored races. Dave Hamblin, Parts For Trucks Commercial Sales Manager was on hand to present the awards. The winner was Wayne Smith with a pair a Shawn’s finishing second and third – Shawn Tucker in second and Shawn Turple in third.

Jim Hallahan of Forbes Chev Olds presented the Manufacture awards. Chris Hughes of Brackley Beach, PE was presented the top Ford award, Kent Vincent was presented the top Dodge award and Shawn Tucker was presented the top Chevrolet award.

The Pole Challenge award was given to the driver who gained the most positions during the year when accepting the Pole Challenge to start twenty-fifth on the grid instead of his qualifying spot. Dartmouth Metals & Bottles, Rockico Truck & Trailer, PEI Potatoes and Marinus Verhagen Enterprises sponsored the Pole Challenge. Richard MacArthur of Rockico Truck & Trailer presented the winner’s award to Lonnie Sommerville of Saint John, NB. Chris Hughes and Shawn Tucker were tied for second place.

Shawn Turple won the Atlantic Tiltload Dash For The Pole and was presented a commemorative jacket by Richard MacArthur on behalf of Atlantic Tiltload.

Jake Urquhart of Urquhart MacDonald Associates presented the Urquhart MacDonald B Feature awards on behalf of his company. First place went to Gary Bursey of Moncton, NB with Mike Stevens of Riverview, NB taking second place and Roger Crane finishing third.

The EIT Race Radios Rookie of the Year awards were presented by Brent Rowley, President of EIT Race Radios. Lonnie Sommerville was the 2007 Rookie of the Year. Darren MacKinnon of Winsloe, PE finished in second place, while Gary Bursey was third.

It was announced that the Most Sportsman Like Driver award was being re-named the Cathy Ledwidge Memorial Most Sportsman Like Driver award in honour of Ledwidge, a long time official in the Maritime stock car scene and seven year veteran of the CARQUEST Pro Stock Tour, who lost her battle with cancer during the summer. The winner of this award is chosen by a vote by drivers, which increases the prestige of the award. Ernie and Mike Ledwidge presented the award to Kent Vincent, who received a standing ovation, a testament to the esteem the other drivers hold for him.

A dance followed the formal presentations.

With nearly 4000 locations in North America, CARQUEST Auto Parts supplies the professional automotive service repair industry as well as do-it-yourselfers with replacement parts, tools and equipment.

The CARQUEST Pro Stock Tour is operated by the Maritime Pro Stock Tour Limited and features an 11 race series at five different venues throughout the Maritime Provinces. Top drivers from all three provinces compete, including previous champions Rollie MacDonald, Shawn Tucker, John Flemming and Wayne Smith. For more information, visit or call our administration office Monday to Friday at (902) 481-2531.